Snapchat+ subscribers may sometimes see a double-eye emoji under Stories, but what does that mean? Launched in late June, Snapchat+ is a subscription service that offers a slew of exclusive features to subscribers. The service costs $3.99 per month and is only available in a handful of countries, including the U.S., Canada, U.K, France, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. Snapchat says that it plans to expand the service to more countries in the future, but there are no specifics on that for now.
Snapchat+ brings a number of new features that could make it popular among power users. All subscribers will get a star icon next to their profile name to indicate that they are a Snapchat+ subscriber. They will also get the ability to pin a friend to the top of the chat window as their ‘#1 BFF.’ Another exclusive Snapchat+ feature is the ability to change the Snapchat app icon on the phone’s home screen. However, for all its benefits, Snapchat+ doesn’t remove ads from the app, something that most paying members would have no doubt appreciated.
As explained by Snapchat, the double-eye emoji is the Rewatch Indicator that shows up under Stories one or more friends have rewatched. Users will also see a number next to the emoji, denoting the number of friends that have rewatched the Story rather than the total number of views the Story has received. Users can also tap on the double-eyes icon to see the names of the friends who have rewatched a story. The feature is available for My Story, Private Stories, and Shared Stories.
The Rewatch Indicator may not be the most exciting feature, but it is one of the more thoughtful additions to the Snapchat+ suite for paying members. It could be especially interesting for users who post a lot of Stories regularly, as it lets them know which ones are being appreciated by their friends or subscribers on the platform.
Alongside Rewatch Indicator, another cool new Snapchat+ feature is Ghost Trails, which makes it possible to check the location history of friends for the past 24 hours. The feature comes with a number of privacy safeguards, meaning it won’t be available for all friends. Instead, it will only be visible for friends who have enabled location access for that user. The feature is accessible by tapping on a user’s Bitmoji. Users will also only be able to see Ghost Trails for friends who are in a country where Snapchat+ is available.